Best Viewed in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome

Types of Soils present in Karnataka

PrintPrintSend to friendSend to friend

1. A scientific knowledge of soils is a pre-requisite to understand the local ecology and useful in planning for agricultural development.

2. As per the updated soil survey data, the soils of Karnataka have been broadly classified under nine groups.

The characteristics and distribution of these nine soil groups in different parts of Karnataka are as follows:

1. Shallow Black Soils .

2. Medium Black Soils.

3.Deep Black Soils.

4.Red Sandy Soils.

5.Mixed Red and Black Soils.

6.Red Loamy Soils.

7. Laterite Soils.

8. Laterite Gravelly Soils.

9.Coastal Alluvium

File Courtesy: 
ZARS, Mandya
Copy rights | Disclaimer | RKMP Policies