Best Viewed in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome


Southern transition zone

1. The total geographical area is 13.09 lakh ha comprising of 14 taluks coming under Shimoga, Davanagere, Chikmagalur, Hassan and Mysore districts.

2. Annual rainfall of the zone ranges from 611.7 to 1053.9 mm.


Southern dry zone

1. It has geographical area of 15.56 lakh hectares and consists of 18 taluks distributed over Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Hassan and Tumkur district.

2. Annual rainfall of the zone ranges between 670.6 and 88.6 mm. Major area of the zone consists of red sandy loam soils.

3. Paddy grows under 3 lakh hectares with production of 6.5 lakh tones and productivity of 2.2 tonnes / ha.


Eastern dry zone

1. This zone has a low rainfall pattern but with more uniform distribution.

2. The head quarters of UAS, Bangalore is located in this zone.

3. The zone comprises 24 taluks coming under Bangalore, Kolar and Tumkur districts.


Central dry zone

1. The zone includes 19 taluks of Davanagere, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Hassan and Chikmagalur district.

2. It has a geographical area of 19.99 lakh ha. with an average annual rainfall of 586.5 mm.


Northern dry zone

1. It is largest of all the zones in the state and comprises of 34 taluks of Bijapur, Bellary, Davanagere, Koppal, Raichur and Dharwad districts.

2. The soils of the zone are medium to deep black clay in larger areas and sandy loam in small portion.

3. The annual rainfall ranges between 464.5 and 785.7 mm.


North-eastern dry zone

1. The total geographical area of the zone is 17.59 lakh hectares.

2. It includes eleven taluks of Gulbarga and Raichur districts.

3. The zone receives an average rainfall of 720 mm annually.


North-eastern transition zone

1. It is a small zone with a total geographical area of 8.74 lakh hectares.

2. It comprises 7 taluks coming under Bidar and Gulbarga district.

3. The annual rainfall of the zone ranges between 829.5 and 919 mm.


Agro-climatic zones of Karnataka

1. Based on the rainfall pattern, topography, 

soil characteristics, climate in general and cropping patterns, Karnataka state has been divided into ten distinct agro-climatic zones which serve as focal areas for conducting location specific research (Anonymous 1993).

2. The ten agro-climatic zones of the state are North-eastern transition zone, North-eastern


Indigenous Technical Knowledge of Karnataka

1.    Sowing of sorghum, red gram and Beans on bund of Terraces
Advantage:  Efficient   utilization of space   and smothering the weeds on bunds
2.    Mixed cropping of Rice + Sorghum in drought prone areas.
Advantage:  As insurance crop to get the produce from either of one crop depending on rainfall
3.    Inter-cultivation and 'Hodta'  (Planking) operations in dry and wet conditions in paddy


Weed control


1. Spray 2, 4-D sodium salt 80 W.P. @ 2.5kg per /ha in 750 liters of water, 3-4 weeks after transplanting. Dicot weeds and some annual grasses and sedges to some extent are controlled. Avoid spray drift reaching to other susceptible crops such as cotton, grapes, peas, beans, potato and other cucurbits in the vicinity.


2. Broadcast 12kg Butachlor 5% granules in standing water of 1"-2" in the plot 5-7 days after transplanting or mix butachlor 50 E.C. 2.5 li

Copy rights | Disclaimer | RKMP Policies